FACEBOOK: To de-friend, perchance to block

 

With modern technology the way it is, there is a whole new way to tell someone you used to be friend’s, or lover’s with, to go fuck themselves.

It’s sneaky and covert, and all it takes is a click of a button to oust that person from your public life forum!

It’s happened to me several times already.

Some were former “partiers” I knew in high school, who, having found Jesus late in life, decided that I was a sinner who wasn’t worth having as a friend because they read some risqué quote on my wall. Others were former co-workers that were cutting down their lists and must have decided that we had nothing to say to each other (which was probably true when I worked with them as well – as boring now as they were then). An ex boyfriend whom I broke up with – that makes sense. Once, even my own sister because we had a disagreement about my lifestyle.

Although I sometimes scratch my head and wonder why a certain person all of a sudden decides I’m not friend material, I usually don’t give a crap when I see I’ve been deleted.  After all, it gets tiring trying to come up with cute, yet supportive comments for someone’s ongoing posts regarding their chronic halitosis, and if I no longer have to participate in shit that I could care less about, so much the better.

I too, have ousted people from my list, but for good reason. So far, these people have been psychopathic men who kept sending me suggestive messages, even when they knew I was seeing someone. (Hard to miss because I posted my relationship on my wall!)

But when I oust someone, I choose to block them. I do this for a couple of reasons. First, if you simply “de-friend” someone, you run the risk of them messaging you asking why you de-friended them. I HATE confrontations, and if some loser I ousted doesn’t realize that I was getting sick of his “I know you want me” messages, then I am not going to waste my time cluing him in.

Secondly, there will be none of this “friend/de-friend/friend” drama for me. If I block you from my page, it is an absolute certainty that I have decided we will be having no more conversations in the future, and therefore, I am willing to let you go completely.

I have seen so many cases of “rational” grown-ups who choose to have an “on-again/off-again” face book friendship with people they share nothing but a passive-aggressive relationship with – and it’s retarded!

In my opinion, if you don’t like each other enough to work through your issues without the assistance of the add/delete button, then you really aren’t friends to begin with, are you?

So, have fun with your chronic halitosis updates and  your lewd suggestive messages, I WON’T be seeing you!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Static
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 16:49:56

    “I have seen so many cases of “rational” grown-ups who choose to have an “on-again/off-again” face book friendship with people they share nothing but a passive-aggressive relationship with – and it’s retarded!”

    God, yes! Thanks for noticing that too! I am surrounded by it through people who have sent me friend requests and we already have mutual friends so I think, “why not? They know so and so. They can’t be that bad if they know them, so I’ll add them too.” And then they end up being the biggest drama queens on the planet.

    Also there’s some mutual friends who put me in the middle of their shit on a regular basis, mostly former blogging buddies – “so and so said this about so and so!” Or “they’re bugging me with their passive-aggressive status updates, so I’m going to post my own passive-aggressive updates to get back at them!” Then they eventually turn on you, or post things that end up offending you, sometimes on purpose.

    And naturally they all claim that they are the most mature, rational, well-adjusted persons on the planet who absolutely despise drama. But what do they do? They are the source of all those things!

    It’s to the point where I feel like I’m going to have to delete and block all of these former blogging pals of mine just so I can go back to enjoying my facebooking experience again.

    Eh, what do you do? Delete ’em, block ’em. Sounds good to me. Just wish I would have saved myself the headache and done it sooner in some cases. 🙂

    Reply

  2. surveygirl46
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 23:39:47

    No doubt Static! I agree, and it seems the older some people get the stupider they get…what may have been deemed “kinda cute” when they were a bitchy pre-teen sure loses it’s charm when you see it’s coming from a middle aged A HOLE wearing polyester and a bad hair rug…

    Reply

    • Static
      Oct 22, 2013 @ 00:05:57

      Well, unfortunately that seems to be a common occurrence. I can’t tell you how many 45+ y.o. women I’ve had to tell to fuck off because they thought they had all the answers and proposed to tell me how to live my life. But there are plenty of stupid pretentious men out there too. Most of them ARE misogynist and have no respect for women muchless themselves. Some people just never grow up. I think I’ve probably given people the benefit of the doubt too often and should exercise the “banhammer” more often.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

