Are You alive?

Remember that song Born to Be Alive?

Back in ..whenever it first came out – I thought it was the lamest song I’d ever heard. Here we had a stupid looking guy (I think he may actually be Mr. Bean – but a younger one – with an 80’s perm)  

He  didn’t even appear to know or care, that he was stupid looking. And his song was just a bunch of obsessive compulsive dribble he repeated over and over and over like a retard with a lobotomy. And as far as 2 am shut the bar down extended tunes went? Forget it! I wouldn’t have danced the last dance to THAT crap if David Lee Roth had suddenly appeared by my side and begged me to. I put that song down to another example of a lapse in reality via disco, and forgot about it.

Then while watching National Lampoon’s Las Vegas Vacation, I heard it again in one of the first scenes in the movie – and it called to me like a siren song.  I was so struck by it this time that i almost missed the hilarity of Chevy Chases daughter getting stuck in the moon roof of the car when Chevy closes the window on her mid section in his scattered way.  Such was my sudden obsession with that song.  It was like it was my time to look beyond Mr. Bean with a Perm – really listen to his message.  So today I share this with you.

Now’s that time to please click on the video, if you will –  and read along with the lyrics.   Which first appear to be a waste of words that contain no depth whatsoever, I know.  But read them again..and ask yourself if they make sense to you, wherever you are in your life, and  in your head right now.    And see, if like the elusive Popes in da Pizzas, you can find the wisdom on his face – which at first makes him look like a dick, and ellicits an urge to slap  him hard for attempting “smartass chic”  while wearing an utterly ridiculous suit):

BORN TO BE ALIVE

WE WERE BORN TO BE, ALIVE WE WERE BORN TO BE, ALIVE
BORN, BORN TO BE ALIVE (BORN TO BE ALIVE)
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN, BORN TO BE ALIVE
PEOPLE ASK ME WHY I NEVER FIND A PLACE TO STOP AND SETTLE
DOWN DOWN DOWN
BUT I NEVER WANTED ALL THE THINGS THAT PEOPLE NEED TO FIND THEIR
LIVES LIVES LIVES
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN TO BE ALIVE (BORN TO BE ALIVE)
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN
IT’S GOOD TO BE ALIVE, TO BE ALIVE, TO BE ALIVE
IT’S GOOD TO BE ALIVE, TO BE ALIVE, TO BE ALIVE
IT’S GOOD TO BE ALIVE
TIMES WAS ON MY SIDE WHEN I RUNNIN’ IN THE STREET IT WAS THE
BY BY BY
A SUITCASE AND AN OLD GUITAR AND SOMETHING NEW TO OCCUPY MY
MIND MIND MIND
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN TO BE ALIVE (BORN TO BE ALIVE)
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN
YOU SEE WE’RE BORN, BORN, BORN TO BE ALIVE (BORN TO BE ALIVE) BORN TO BE ALIVE

OK this particular sensei will NEVER be sexy, I admit.  But still his statement is a strong one. I wonder how many people out there can answer that question honestly – or if they even think of it as  they go along their ever-deadening path from the job to home and back.  I’m aware there’s a lot of us who wont’ even admit to the existance of anything we think is out of  reach in our lives.

And what does our hippy Mr. Bean mean by being “born to be alive” anyway? 

This is where you have to look beyond the one dimensional ordinary world visible to our eyes, and part the veil to find what’s been hidden from us..but not hidden, most of our lives ….and look for it.  Seek and ye shall find – I promise.  And some of you already know what I mean by this.  Some of you know that to BE ALIVE means to immerse yourself in anything that makes your heart beat faster, your blood run quicker, makes you laugh out loud in delight…like you did as a child…when you instinctively knew you were born to be alive – and to hell what everyone else thinks. Want some examples? Ok.

Like …….taking whatever your mind has created as a icon of a true expression of yourself – (be it the elegant or raw and left-field) and throwing it out there – knowing it may drown without anyone ever knowing it was there – but you.   And not expecting anything to wash up your beach looking for a home, except for maybe some garbage.  But then all of a sudden finding out that maybe there are really 100 billion castaways looking for your home-o. (And by the time you’ve done the first step in throwing yourself out there to begin with you’ve probably come to realize that solitude ISN’T a bad thing after all – and the company that seeks you out is an added bonus – a wonderful added bonus because now you have someone else to share parts of your spirit with). 

And it’s also …discovering that you’re really OK with not having the world’s acceptance of you (or that of most people, come to think of it).  But finally knowing you’ve always had the only validation of your existance you’ve ever needed – that of yourself.  You just couldn’t see it until it was time.

And it’s…being glad that you don’t KNOW everything about life, or even yourself yet.  This means that you still have so much more to look forward to. The universe will always have so much more to reveal to you – and the fascination with  “what’s next?” (yes – even the bad things, ) this willingness to accept and embrace them – this  is what not only helps us grow into who we were meant to be but makes us feel and keeps us ALIVE!

I think Patrick just KNEW what being alive meant …and tried to tell us in terms a Bocefus would understand.  I think he dressed and acted in a kind of stark relief contrast to the meaning in the simple lyrics of his song. (Then again, I could be all wrong about everything  – Maybe I’m wasting time romancticizing a clueless idiot whose  B-MOVIE mama was owed a HUGE favor by the famous music producer who knocked her up back in the day – and his dribble about being “born to be alive” was only brought to fruition as it was included in part of his mother’s “hush” deal with the studio….but I don’t think so…)

So anyway, listen to this song maybe a few more times for courage –  and if you’re up to it make a mental list of the things that keep you from “being ALIVE” – and work on cutting them out of your life, one by one, like the cancers they are.  Don’t let them consume your spirit. Start doing what we are all  born to do.  What are we all born to do?  Be Alive: 

Leave that one-sided boring relationship that’s holding you back.  If you feel guilty, picture the person in their underwear…(hey, it worked for Marsha on the Brady Bunch)

Tell your know-it-all brother in law to bite you.  If you can’t do that, trip him down a flight of stairs by accident…

Throw away that ugly un-sexy “power suit” and wear some G-strings over some tight jeans to the office tomorrow. (I mean you guys too!)

Call the white house and leave a personal message for our Commander in Chief to bite you – you QUIT! (Make sure you blame that one on your brother in law – HINT: if you tripped him down the stairs as I suggested he might be in a coma by now and won’t be able to deny the charges)

If  doing any of these things causes an unexpected move to another country and a change of  name – WHO CARES? Just do it! Just Be Alive…

Thank you for your time, see you in Mexico in about a week:)

 OH and P.S. – Here’s the Extended club version of Born to be Alive – I think based on where I’m at in my head today – I would gladly dance to this WHOLE song, drunk off my ass, with a full bladder and be happy to spend the next several  hours dodging  Roxbury boy for old time’s sake. …

DISCLAIMER: ALTHOUGH THIS POST IS BASED ON A TRUE AND CORRECT OPINION OF WHAT “BEING  ALIVE MEANS TO ME –  THERE IS SOME HUMOR INTERJECTED HERE. FOR INSTANCE – EVEN A HALF TARD KNOWS THAT “WHITE HOUSE” IS  CODE FOR “AM/PM” AND “COMMANDER IN CHIEF” IS CODE FOR THAT DOPEY TEENAGE MANAGER YOU WORK FOR…that’s all…….duh

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. FreakSmack
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 05:49:59

    Well I have to take a break her to say that I read the entire first part of this thinking you were crazy for ragging on Steppenwolf for “Born to be Wild” – The Coolest Fucking Song Ever! I’m glad I was wrong, and am not surprised at all I never heard of this dude or his song.

    Oh, and I will NOT be wearing a g-string tomorrow, I was born to be wild, that means I’m free. free-ballin.

    PS. I sat through 2:23 of that extended club version before I had to turn it off, if we used that as torture in GITMO, we would have caught Bin Laden a long time ago.

    Reply

  2. surveygirl46
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 05:54:40

    As glad as I am to hear that your balls at least are born to be alive and free, i’m somewhat saddened to learn that you still didn’t get the message behind the Mr. Bean facade – which in a nutshell was – push my brother-in-law down the stairs for me PLEASE…

    Reply

  3. Mrs. Blogalot
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 13:21:39

    Okay okay…I’ll be alive! Just get that song out of my head please!!!

    Reply

    • surveygirl46
      Nov 17, 2009 @ 14:42:35

      Ok here goes…the song is now out ( we were born doo doo do do born born to be alive born to be alive) is that better? lol…(i know i hear it all the time now – it even drowns out the sound of my friends in my head)

      Reply

  4. thinkinfyou
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 15:56:03

    I think you need to go on tour as a motivational speaker. You need to find Patrick Hernanadez number and see if he could come along to sing your opening.

    Reply

  5. surveygirl46
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 18:31:02

    TFU – that is second ONLY after our book….

    Reply

  6. TJ Lubrano
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 23:11:41

    Whahhahaha! I knew this song, but never saw a vid of it! He does move his nose in strange way, indeed a bit like Mr. Bean! Everytime he says ‘born’. Also his hands, it seems like he doesn’t know what to do with them. Luckily his has that stick to carry around…otherwise he would be lost…

    He does have a graceful twirl, doesn’t he?

    Reply

  7. surveygirl46
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 23:36:52

    Graceful in a “im a dork but don’t care i’m making more money with this video than you ever will in your whole sorry life” kind of way….LOL

    Reply

    • TJ Lubrano
      Nov 19, 2009 @ 18:02:01

      Exactly! It’s a twirl with a mean message!

      Mean I tell you *shakes fist*.

      I wonder how the world will react if you make a vid like this now…you’ll make the news that’s for sure hehehe ^_^

      Reply

  8. FreakSmack
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 23:38:59

    Wait wait wait hold the fucking presses, the other day reading this it made no sense to me at all. Then today it hits me, and now it’s so clear.
    This paragraph:
    “This is where you have to look beyond the one dimensional ordinary world visible to our eyes, and part the veil to find what’s been hidden from us..but not hidden, most of our lives ….and look for it. Seek and ye shall find – I promise. And some of you already know what I mean by this. Some of you know that to BE ALIVE means to immerse yourself in anything that makes your heart beat faster, your blood run quicker, makes you laugh out loud in delight…like you did as a child…when you instinctively knew you were born to be alive – and to hell what everyone else thinks.”
    Plus the video, mirrors everywhere, a glass table, the white shoes, a cane that probably doubles as a straw. The message is to go snort some blow, I don’t know how I could have been so oblivious. Thanks SG46, I’m going to go out and make you and Patrick Hernanadez proud!

    Reply

    • surveygirl46
      Nov 18, 2009 @ 23:44:22

      I don’t know what you mean by this FS! The message i was trying to convey was for our nations youth to watch out for perverts resembling Mr. Bean, dressed like a “dandy” in the devils ice cream parlor” singing about children- that’s all – to prove my point – I’d have known back in the day if straws came in THAT size – never did! LOL

      Reply

      • FreakSmack
        Nov 19, 2009 @ 00:09:32

        That’s right, blame the perverts, that’s exactly the kind of response I’d expect to get from a pusher!

        LOL
        If straws came in that size you wouldn’t be here today.

  9. surveygirl46
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 02:15:25

    No i’d still be here – back then, as now, I still couldn’t afford anything in that amount that would require me to use a straw that big..

    Reply

  10. TJ Lubrano
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 20:09:58

    Hehehehe ^_^

    I’m always here…wherever you go, I will follow you….la la laa laaa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

